10/25/18: Please support the Typhoon Yutu GoFundMe campaign

Home  Battle of Saipan Tinian-Hiroshima tour Rota Amelia Earhart tour Client Videos Cruise Ship Shore Excursion Activities Hotel/Car Merchandise Walt Email Walt Request Tour Date



  Look for this symbol downloadto download FREE previews of various products.

Testimonials

Here is some recent feedback I've received in my role as....

...a Video shoot Location Manager


I write on behalf of ZANYBROS staff thanking you for the great collaboration during pre-production and production days. We are very satisfied with the results and excited for future possibilities to film on Saipan. As this big production consisted of 4 different nationalities, languages and cultures, I am glad things went as well as they did. Mr Kim, Lee and Nomura give their best wishes to you and your family as well. Hope to work together again soon.
--Angelina Foss, Overseas Marketing Producer, ZanyBros on Facebook

...a WWII Tour Guide (on Tripadvisor.com)




PreciousRayStewart
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed October 25, 2018
Wonderful Tour - Saipan In A Day With Walt
We had a very short time in Saipan and wanted to make sure we saw everything we could and Walt made that happen. Before the tour he responded to my many e-mails and answered all questions in a timely fashion. We found out that we were all from Jamaica. So probably for the first time ever there were 3 Jamaicans on Saipan at the same time. LOL. Having a private tour was the way to go but having Walt as our tour guide made the tour so much better!! We saw every inch of Saipan, took gorgeous photos, learned so much history & made great memories. We were able to ask Walt any question but his age. Oh and you better believe I asked some personal questions. LOL. We had some deep, thought provoking & funny conversations. We thought Guam was beautiful and Walt showed us how beautiful Saipan was also. We were able to go to a lot of locations that the big tour buses can’t so we saw much more than other tourists. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Saipan!!
Walt - Thanks again for a wonderful tour. Hafa Adai and nuff respect mi Jamaican bredren.

Paul S
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile
Saipan with Walt
It was a great trip! Walt took us to all the best spot of the island and told us about their history. We liked the flexibility of the private tour since we could choose our route and stay at each spot as long as we wanted. Definitely recommend to see the island with Walt!

billabbottmd
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewed February 28, 2018
Saipan in a Day tailored to your interests
We have been on many tours in many countries and this tour is among the best. Walt is a transplant from Jamaica via NYC but has fallen in love with Saipan. He is incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastically shares that knowledge. He is incredibly attentive to every detail. The tour was exhaustive and insightful. We felt we really knew Saipan at its conclusion. If I had a complaint, it would be the high cost. Although initially reluctant because of the price, we are glad we chose to do the tour.

Darla P
Cincinnati
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile
Military tour of WWII
My father was a Marine in the 2nd division who was part the beachhead assault in the Battle of Saipan 73 yrs ago. He was critically wounded on the third day of the battle. As with most men of his generation he never spoke of his battle rigors other than to say he was just a Marine doing his duty for his brethren and country. Therefore I placed a great deal of responsibility on Walt the tour guide to fill in the voids and educate me about battle sites and geography. I submitted questions to him prior to my arrival. It was very clear that he had research the particulars and more. When I left the island I was enriched in Spirit and knowledge that will live on for generations in my family. Thanks Walt!!!!

LaurieH295
Reviewed January 14, 2018
Excellent tour and guide!
Review of: Saipan in a Day-Amelia Earhart tour
Walt provided a full day of sights to see and had a wealth of information about Saipan. It was a thoroughly enjoyable day. I highly recommend Walt and his tours!

LaurettaE
Three Rivers, Michigan
Reviewed August 8, 2017
100% Trustworthy
Ever wonder what would happen to your online booking payment if your trip was canceled at the last minute? It happened to me and I certainly was glad I had booked my tour with Walt Goodrich, Discover Saipan. Our cruise ship could not dock because of bad weather. Would our very large tour group get a refund? Even though this cancellation undoubtedly caused him and his team big problems and a lot of cash out-of-pocket, Walt was very gracious. I was impressed by his handling of the situation and his follow through. If booking tours over the Internet makes you the least bit uneasy, choose Discover Saipan. Everything about this business is first-class! You are in good hands with Walt!

RadRoentgen
Frederic, Wisconsin
Reviewed April 27, 2017
Excellent experience with Saipan tour led by Walt and Discover Saipan.
I’ve been to Japan over a half-dozen times over the past decade. Recently, I learned how easy it is to visit Guam via Tokyo’s Narita airport. For this year’s Japan trip, I decided to do just that and visit Saipan and Tinian as well. The overriding reason was to visit the latter two islands as my uncle participated in their invasion by U.S. forces (his unit was the 534th Amphibian Tractor Battalion) during WWII. He lived a long and full life, but like many vets, he did not discuss his service. So, this visit was very personal. I am so happy that I learned of Walt and Discover Saipan, and with a friend booked Walt’s personalized tour. Although the tour had a WWII site focus, Walt ensured we also visited other sites that helped us also better understand Saipan, its history and its citizens. This comprehensive tour let us take many photos, which will be much easier to caption, remember, describe to friends due to Walt’s meticulously timestamped post-tour itinerary. He even sketched an itinerary for our next-day’s visit to Tinian. Walt was open to all questions, and he even now continues to provide us more information and amplification via his post-tour research updates. Having Walt as a tour guide was like having another close friend in the tour group to share the experiences. Walt and Discover Saipan provide an excellent personalized tour of Saipan that my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed and learned much. Because of Walt and his focus on a personalized tour experience, I felt my personal mission was fulfilled and that I made a new friend. I highly recommend Walt and Discover Saipan!

...a WWII Tour Guide (on Google.com)

Chris Puleo
We had only a day and a half in Saipan and Walt managed to arrange a terrific tour to see all of the important WWII sites in that time. He picked us up at the airport and made sure we got back their in time for our flight the next day. We also decided to include a short but very memorable visit to Tinian in that time. Saipan is terrific but the history and impact of the events that took place on Tinian made that a very worthwhile addition to our trip. Walt recreates the events that happened at each site so you can better understand what was happening during those critical times. We would highly recommend using Walt and his company when visiting the island. Like
Daniel Burnham
Walt and I had a grand time together. I'm glad that I finally decided to visit Tinian--I was on the fence about including it in my itinerary, but it really turned out to be the highlight of my time in Guam and the Northern Marianas. Highly recommended! Like
Gledsie Stewart
We had a very short time in Saipan and wanted to make sure we saw everything we could and Walt made that happen. Before the tour he responded to my many e-mails and answered all questions in a timely fashion. We found out that we were all from Jamaica. So probably for the first time ever there were 3 Jamaicans on Saipan at the same time. LOL. Having a private tour was the way to go but having Walt as our tour guide made the tour so much better!! We saw every inch of Saipan, took gorgeous photos, learned so much history & made great memories. We were able to ask Walt any question but his age. Oh and you better believe I asked some personal questions. We had some deep, thought provoking & funny conversations. We thought Guam was beautiful and Walt showed us how beautiful Saipan was also. We were able to go to a lot of locations that the big tour buses can’t so we saw much more than other tourists. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Saipan!! Walt - Thanks again for a wonderful tour. Hafa Adai and nuff respect mi Jamaican bredren.
M M
Walt did a great job for me. Picked me up at the airport and proceeded with a very organized tour of the Island and of special interest to me the WWII sites and a private collection .Very professional and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.
Gary Parsons
Walt was a wonderful guide. Before we came, Walt coordinated through email so we knew we had the tour we wanted. During the tour of Saipan and Tinian, Walt tailored what we did to fit our exact interest. I would recommend Walt to anyone. He knows his stuff...
Hasse Wiersma
What a great experience! I always want a tour different from anything else and Walt directly understood what I wanted. We had a great long day trip on Saipan where I really saw EVERYTHING. The other day we went to Tinian, the island that changed history, where he showed me around to all the spots that you can think of that are of interest including a few secret spots. Well done and well communicated!
Cathie Slota
We used Walt's company for a tour both on Saipan & Guam. And he did not let us down. In response to an email with questions about the tour Walt responded with an email immediately as well as a phone call from Saipan to see if I had any more questions. I was so impressed that while on our cruise I passed his info on to others who also signed up. We had 4 vans on Saipan and 2 on Guam. His love and knowledge of Saipan was evident througout more than our money worth.h the tour. He hired another guide to assist him on Guam. Ed also shared his expertise and even let us stop at a store to buy the "famous Spain". We were interested in WWII history and he showed us many sights as well as interesting facts not found in books. I can, with no hesitation, recommend both tours.
"I met Walt a year ago this month. My wife and I were booking a cruise through Crystal Cruises, from Long Beach, CA, to Tokyo, with one=day stops at several of the Pacific islands where I had fought during WWII. Due to age and some other restrictions, we did not want to sign up for tours which Crystal was sponsoring, as I really only wanted to visit those sights which related to my Navy service. Hence, I went on line and searched for a private guide who would accompany us during ship stops on Guam and Saipan. I spoke with Walt Goodridge by phone. He understood exactly what we were looking for and quoted a fair price for his services. Walt met our ship on its arrival at Guam. He had arranged for a representative of the National Park Service to spend the day with us and, with Walt, to take us to the places we were hoping to visit. I could not have conceived a better tour. Our ship left Guam just after dinner. The next day we awoke to find the ship docked in Saipan. Walt was waiting right there on the dock. He spent the whole day with us and, using his comfortable vehicle, took us completely around the island and made sure that we covered all the sights that related to the WWII invasion and battles on Saipan. He was extremely knowledgeable about the history of not only Saipan but the entire Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands. We left Walt late that afternoon at the gangway of our ship. We departed feeling that we were leaving a friend behind. I would recommend Walt as a guide for any of my friends contemplating a visit to the NMI. I can’t imagine that anyone would know more about the Islands than Walt, nor how to enhance the pleasure of visiting there.--Lloyd Glick

...a Travel Agent Resource

"We found Walt Goodridge on the internet looking for a guide and an onbound operator on Saipan. Walt is an incredible hands on and reliable guy. We received his answers with in minutes after we send the request to him. Our clients love Walt and with some he is still in contact exchanging pictures. He knows Saipan very well and has special places to show to each guest, his island tours have a very personal and special touch. If we would have him on all south pacific islands, our life would be much easier ....With very best regards from Munich --Jorg, travel agent in Germany

...an Activity Coordinator

Chris and Kayla

"My husband is in the US Navy and first went to Saipan as a port visit 2 years ago. We visited Saipan last year for our honeymoon and again this year! It has crystal blue waters and is a great place to relax. We booked our tours through Destination Saipan and would recommend them for future travels. They arranged pick up to and from our activities as well as fast responses on any questions I had before my trip!"

Q: What was the best part of your trip?
"I enjoyed spending time at the beautiful beach at our hotel as well as the dinner cruise with my husband. Last year we went para sailing and jet skiing and had a blast with both activities!"
--Kayla & Chris Lassiter




Tikla and Austin
tikla and austin on managaha island saipan
"I lived on Saipan with my family for several years and loved it! After I left for school and married Austin, I just had to come back and show him all the places and people I love. My friends and I used to camp out on Managaha all the time and I wanted to do that with him! Talk about the most romantic trip ever! The weather was perfect on Managaha and my husband LOVED it!! We snorkeled in the bright blue water and then pried open some coconuts for a snack. We had the whole island to ourselves for a very peaceful, beautiful night. He loved the crabs all over the beach in the morning and it was super romantic of course. Thanks for being so helpful! You made the whole experience easy and enjoyable. I can't thank you enough!"
Thanks again,
Tikla

p.s. Sorry for the delay getting back to you! We had such a great time I didn't even check my email!! :)
And I love the newsaipan.com site! What a great mission. Here is an official statement if you like it better:
"We booked a ferry to Managaha through Destination Saipan. The whole thing was super easy thanks to the prompt feedback I received before I came. When we arrived on the dock the boat operators were extremely friendly. Here is a photo (I think we look pretty good for having just camped on an tropical island, wouldn't you say? ;)



Kind Words from China
Saipan
"My wife and I were considering moving to Saipan when we took the trip in December 2009. Walt at DestinationSaipan helped us to secure the night on the arriving day with a nice and clean hotel in the tourist area. It was also a breeze when we wanted to extend one night with the same hotel. We wanted to stay with a local family and Walt also helped us in finding the homestay. Walt even accompanied us to rental car return and the airline check-in counter on the departure day. We found the service to be reliable and responsive.... We recommend the service to visitors who want to have a tour of Saipan more catering to their individual tastes and/or an off-the-beaten-path experience."
Q:What did you like best about Saipan?
"...I found that what really impressed me are the following:

  • The color of the water near Managaha island and Memorial Park, and in other locations around the island. It is the color of bright Jade. Just loving it!
  • How safe it feels. During the days that I did the homestay, the entrance was never locked . I used to do that in California so it was not surprising to me, but it would be shocking to a person who has only lived in the urban areas of most cities, where a steel door entrance is a must to fend against break-ins.
  • Beautiful, but uncrowded beaches. Better yet, beaches that are all public! It is definitely touching to a person who has gotten used to seeing signs saying "private property, do not trespass" in many scenery spots in other parts of the US.

    I know this is probably not an exciting testimonial, but it is true to my heart.
    --Jian G., from Weihai, Shandong, China

  • Request a tour itinerary and quote

    Select one or more PERSONALIZED tours of SAIPAN, TINIAN or ROTA:

    Battle of Saipan / World War II Pilgrimage (ask about private collections)

    Saipan in a Day / Amelia Earhart Tour

    Tinian to Hiroshima Tour

    Rota "Castaway" Tour

    Relocation Tour


    You may also Email me with your questions
    Follow, Like, Share:      

    © The Passion Profit Company. All Rights Reserved.

    Designed by Themeum